McDonald's names All-American nominees

Local athletes were recognized when McDonald’s released its list of nonminees for its 2020 All-American game players.

Van Buren County saw Taryn Scheuermann named. Keota had JD Stout and Highland had Zack Lasek.

The game will be played April 1, 2020 at the Toyota Center in Houston, Texas.

The McDonald’s All American Games are the only democratically selected prep all-star event in the country. The nation’s top high school basketball coaches and media

comprise the selection committee responsible for selecting the boys and girls rosters from a pool of more than 700 nominated high school seniors. Since the beginning, high school basketball coaching legend Morgan Wootten has led the selection committee. Winner of more than 1,200 Games at DeMatha (Hyattsville, Md.), Wootten serves as selection chairman and works closely with Games founder Bob Geoghan to oversee committee voting.

Nominees are named by state. All information for the nominees is provided and confirmed by the nominating coach, principal and/or athletic director.

The girls in Iowa were Caitlin Clark, Des Moines Dowling; Aubrey Joens, Iowa City High; Kayla Laube, Marion; Rose Nkumu, Iowa City High; Taryn Scheuermann Van Buren County.

The boys in Iowa were Braxton Bayless, Ankeny; Will Berg, West Des Moines Valley; Goanar Biliew, Denison; Bowen Born, Norwalk; Even Brauns, Iowa City West; Keshawn Christian, Iowa City High; Drew Daniel, West Des Moines Dowling; Easton Darling, Winterset; Caleb Delzell, Camanche; Jaleque Dunson, Sioux City East; Xavier Foster, Oskaloosa; Romanique Hellems, Des Moines Roosevelt; Micah Johnson, Ankeny Centenial; Jaden Keller, Waterloo West; Sam Kilberg, North Scott; Zach Lasek, Highland; Cody McCullough, Ankeny Centennial; Masen Miller, Iowa City Regina; Josh Ollendieck, Cedar Falls; Kaiden Phillips, Davenport Central; Nick Reid, Central City; Matt Stilwill, West Des Moines Dowling; JD Stout, Keota; DaQuavion Walker, Waterloo West; Daniel Wright, Sergeant Bluff-Luton.