Four area v-ball players named All-State

Sayre, Manning, Pry and Graber all picked for IGCA All-State squads

Union file photo

Van Buren hitter Selena Sayre was named to the Class 2A Second Team by the Iowa Girls’ Coaches Assocation.
Union file photo Van Buren hitter Selena Sayre was named to the Class 2A Second Team by the Iowa Girls’ Coaches Assocation.

The Iowa Girls’ Coaches Association released their All-State honorees for the 2019 volleyball season this week, and the Union coverage area had four names on the list. Van Buren led the way with two players, Salena Sayre and Isabel Manning in Class 2A. New London’s Addie Pry and WACO’s Morgan Graber made the Class 1A team.

Sayre was the most decorated player in the area, making the Class 2A second team. No other player was named to the first or second squad in their respective classes. Sayre had a huge senior campaign, finishing the season with 502 kills.

Manning was one of two area juniors found on the All-State list. Manning finished the year as the top digger in Class 2A, finishing the year with 592 digs. She also had 37 aces on the year.

In Class 1A, Pry was named to the third team in her senior year. She was the lone Tiger to make the list after having 335 kills to lead New London.

Graber, the top hitter on the WACO team was named to the Class 1A Honorable Mention list in her junior year. She was the only Warrior to eclipse 300 kills, finishing with 305. She also had 32 blocks on the season.

The three area big schools, Fairfield, Mt. Pleasant and Washington, were shut out on the Class 4A list.

Listed below is the full list of players named in Classes 1A, 2A and 4A. The entire list can be viewed at Note that Class 4A does not have a third team.

CLASS 1A FIRST TEAM: Gabby Gergen (11), Janesville; Kelsey Hobbie (12), Sydney; Lydia Improgno (10), Wapsie Valley; Katie Kopriva (12), North Tama; Olivia Larsen (12), Sydney; Allie Petry (11), St. Alberts; Claire Pothitakis (11), Holy Trinity; Zoey Semelroth (12), Tripoli.

CLASS 1A SECOND TEAM: Kaci Beesecker (12), Wapsie Valley; Maddy Duncan (12), Sidney; Takoa Kopriva (12), North Tama; Alex Knopp (12), East Mills; Saari Kuehl (11), Gladbrook-Renbeck; Sydney Livermore (12), Gehlen Catholic; Julia Meister (12), Janesville; Kassi Randolph (10), Holy Trinity.

CLASS 1A THIRD TEAM: Kelsey Hansel (10), Edgewood-Colesburg; Ella Larsen (11), Newell-Fonda; McKenna Miller (12), Wapsie Valley; Nichola Phillippe (11), Belle Plaine; Addie Pry (12), New London; Kalvyn Rosengarten (9), Wapsie Valley; Amber Weltha (12), Baxter; Sierra Wright (12), Grandview Christian.

CLASS 1A HONORABLE MENTION: Chloe Bunker (12), Gehlen Catholic; Riley Doenhoefer (12), Siouxland Christian; Dezirae Drake (12), East Mills; Morgan Graber (11), WACO; Macy Heimes (10), Starmond; Bailey Hoff (12), Janesville; Mallory Loftus (12), Lynville-Sully; Masun Marshall (12), Lisbon; McKenna Nelson (12), Lisbon; Abby Pospisil (12), Cedar Valley Chrsitian; Jentry Schafer (12), Southwest Valley; Taylor Smith (12), Iowa Valley; Katy Stephens (10), Burlington Notre Dame.

CLASS 2A FIRST TEAM: Danielle Johnson (11), Osage; Morgan Middleton (11), Clarion Goldfield Dows; Jada Willis (12), Beckman Catholic; Olivia Granstra (12), Western Christian; Macay Van’t Hul (12), Western Christian; Paige Kisley (11), Osage; Helaina Hillyard (12), Mediapolis.

CLASS 2A SECOND TEAM: Ashlyn Kuhn (11), Hudson; Tori Wynja (12), Western Christian; Ellie Bobinet (11), Osage; Kiersten Schmitt (10), Beckman Catholic; Emerson Kracht (12), Grundy Cneter; Macy Vanfossan (11), Underwood; Selena Sayre (12), Van Buren.

CLASS 2A THIRD TEAM: Kelsey Drake (10), Wilton; Kyah Luhring (12), Grundy Center; Chloe Lergent (10), ACGC; Isabel Manning (11), Van Buren; Ella Caffrey (10), Wilton; Makenna Kooima (12), Western Christian; Peyton Cook (12), Underwood.

CLASS 2A HONORABLE MENTION: Paige McDermott (12), Beckman Catholic; Brooke Zylstra (12), Boyden Hull; Kiley Metzger (12), Central Lyon; Ruthie Jahn (12), Mediapolis; Abby Hamann (12), Grundy Center; Sarah Hansen (11), Hudson; Alaina Freisleben (11), Clarion Goldfield Downs; Kinsey Scheffler (12), AHSTW.

CLASS 4A FIRST TEAM: Kenzie Foley (12), Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Aliyah Carter (12), Dubuque Wahlert; Macey Kleitcsch (12), West Delaware; Megan Witte (12), Lewis Central; Eve Magill (11), Cedar Rapids Xavier; Dlenay Rice (12), Marion; Jaz Westmoreland (12), Waverly-Shell Rock; Elle Sneller (12), Sergeant Bluff-Luton.

CLASS 4A SECOND TEAM: Katelyn Knudsen (12), Dallas Center-Grimes; Ella Scarborough (11), Glendwood; Meridith Bahl (10), Western Dubuque; Ella Koloc (10), West Delaware; Trinity Zika (11), Marion; Emma Powell (12), North Scott; Elyse Winter (11), Cedar Rapids Xavier; Madison Maahs (10), Western Dubuque.

CLASS 4A HONORABLE MENTION: Rylee Ludwig (12), Carroll; Katie Keitges (12), Knoxville; Faith DeRonde (10), Oskaloosa; Calia Clubb (10), Clear Creek-Amana; Brooke Mulholland (12), Clinton; Meredith Hoffman (12), Carlisle; Lauren Carter (10), Winterset; Delaney Esterling (12), Lewis Central; Jazmine Yamikoski (11), Xavier Cedar Rapids; Kendall McNaull (12), North Scott; Kinsie Zinnel (11), Boone; Haleigh Hadley (12), Gilbert; Mia Gamet (11), Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Avery Beckett (10), Waverly-Shell Rock; Kinsley Kolbet (12), West Delaware; Emily Kono (12), Center Point-Urbana.