All-SEISC baseball teams out

Pekin's KennanWinn is POY in North Division

Landon Becker, who started on the mound, tries to help his cause with a swing of the bat for Cardinal in a substate final when the Comets lost to Van Meter, 12-2. Van Meter won the Class 2A title. Becker was a first team all-SEISC pick. (Doug Brenneman/Union)
Landon Becker, who started on the mound, tries to help his cause with a swing of the bat for Cardinal in a substate final when the Comets lost to Van Meter, 12-2. Van Meter won the Class 2A title. Becker was a first team all-SEISC pick. (Doug Brenneman/Union)

Even though it was a shortened season this summer for baseball teams, it was an extended list of all-conference players in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference.

Coaches votes often resulted in a tie, thus putting both players on the team.

Pekin’s Kennan Winn was voted the Player of the Year in the North Division and Pekin coaches Pi Reighard and Aaron Deutsch were named as the Coach(es) of the Year.

The South Division saw Notre Dame’s trip to state rewarded with Player of the Year Drew Chiprez and Coach of the Year Chris Chiprez as well as six players named first team and three more second team.

Kennan Winn was third in the North Division in batting average at .469 behind teammate Mason Juhl’s .485 and Winfield-Mount Union’s .500. Winn led the league in home runs with four and was third in runs batted in.

As a pitcher, Winn’s earned run average was fourth at 0.88. Hillcrest’s London Schrock was first at 0.49 and Hillcrest’s Eli Ours was second at 0.76 while Winn’s teammate Chandler Stull was third at 0.78. Highland’s Bill Laughlin was fifth at 1.26.

In the batter’s box, Winn struck out just twice all season and had an on-base percentage of .591.

Notre Dame dominated most categories in the South but Kooper Schulte of New London allowed just two runs for an ERA of 0.55 and Cardinal’s Landon Becker was second in innings pitched at 27 1/3 and teammate Jentry Arbogast was second in strikeouts with 41,

New London’s Tucker Gibbar was third in hits with 24 and second in RBIs with 21.

North Division


P Cael Yeggy, Highland

P Tyler Samuel, Mediapolis

C Mason Juhl, Pekin

C Trevor McFarland, Highland

IF Eli Ours, Hillcrest

IF Chase Schultz, Highland

IF Adam Knock, Lone Tree

IF Jaxon Brooks, Mediapolis*

IF Daniel Meeker, Wapello*

OF Brady Millikin, Pekin

OF Kobe Borntrager, Hillcrest

OF Bill Laughlin, Highland

OF Harmon Miller, Lone Tree

UT Brady Latchem, Pekin

UT Michael Diaz, Louisa-Muscatine

UT Max McClure, Mediapolis


P London Schrock, Hillcrest

P Jared Worley, Louisa-Muscatine

C Tate Kronfeldt, Wapello

C Drayven Fenton, Mediapolis

IF Noah Miller, Hillcrest

IF Chase Kruse, Louisa-Muscatine

IF Luke Miller, Highland

IF Cade Schield, Lone Tree*

IF Rhett Smith, Wapello

OF Aiden Housman, Wapello

OF Chase Stansberry, Pekin

OF Kaden Schneider, Louisa-Muscatine

OF Blake Osborne, Mediapolis

UT Connor Grinstead, Highland

UT Keegan Edwards, Lone Tree

UT Evan Rees, Columbus*

UT Jacob Ford, Winfield-Mount Union


Columbus: Mason Hodges, Grant Watson

Highland: Mason McFarland, Grant Colbert

Lone Tree: Tim Mills, Cale Yoder

Louisa-Muscatine: Max McCulley, Gabe Hayes

Mediapolis: Regan Thornburg, Josh Darbyshire

Wapello: Chase Witte, Owen Housman

Winfield-Mount Union: Christian Gerot, Dawson Bergthold

Pekin: Colten Comstock, Chandler Stull

Hillcrest: Drew Blauvelt, Luke Schrock

Coach of the Year: Pi Reighard and Aaron Deutsch, Pekin

Player of the Year: Kennan Winn, Pekin

South Division


P Jadon Hawk, Central Lee

P Landon Becker, Cardinal

C Trenton Blythe, Notre Dame

C Tucker Gibbar, New London

IF Kooper Schulte, New London

IF Drew Chiprez, Notre Dame

IF Ryan Wolf, Van Buren County

IF Nick Skerik, Notre Dame*

IF Holvin Catala, New London*

IF Carson Chiprez, Notre Dame*

OF Joshua Catala, New London

OF Jeron Connor, Notre Dame

OF Griffin Molle, Danville

OF TJ Stutes, Central Lee*

OF Dawson Lewis, Cardinal*

UT Jonah Heckenberg, Van Buren County

UT Adam Boeck, Central Lee

UT Brady Oleson, Notre Dame*

UT Dreyton Laveine, West Burlington


P Taylor Sprouse, Van Buren County

P Jentry Arbogast, Cardinal

C Peyton Johnson, Cardinal

C Treyton Bainbridge, Van Buren County*

C Brady Diewold, West Burlington

IF Evan Pohren, Central Lee

IF Blaine Bryant, Cardinal

IF Josh Smith, Notre Dame

IF Gabe Zurita, West Burlington*

IF Kaden Westlake, Notre Dame

OF Seth Bailey, New London

OF Mitchell Brent, Notre Dame

OF Tony Davidson, Van Buren County

OF Zach Krantz, West Burlington

UT Dylan Stuecker, Central Lee

UT Carter Allen, New London

UT Hayden Vandenburg, West Burlington


Cardinal: Ryan Clark, Maddux Jones

Central Lee: Gus Overstreet, Kody Sapp

Danville: Klayton Kleinkopf, Cam Edle

New London: Jaxon Allen, Shae Summerfield

Notre Dame: Jackson Brent

Van Buren County: Tommy Adkins, Cory Bunnell

West Burlington: Ty Hill, Kaleb Allen

Coach of the Year: Chris Chiprez

Player of the Year: Drew Chiprez, Notre Dame

*Indicates tie vote


North Division

Team Overall Conf.

Pekin 8-3 7-1

Highland 8-7 6-2

Mediapolis 8-6 6-2

Hillcrest 5-6 5-3

Lone Tree 7-7 5-3

Louisa-Muscatine 4-10 3-5

Wapello 3-9 3-5

Winfield-Mount Union 2-11 1-8

Columbus 0-9 0-8

South Division

Team Overall Conf.

Notre Dame 14-3 5-1

New London 14-4 4-2

Central Lee 12-2 4-1

Cardinal 10-4 2-3

West Burlington 4-6 2-3

Van Buren County 4-8 1-5

Danville 4-7 0-6