Staff Columnist

Wednesday, December 30, 2020

I spent my senior year of college studying abroad in Mexico. One of the culture shocks I experienced was my Mexican friends' attitude toward punctuality. ...

Wednesday, October 07, 2020

Growing up in a small town was a great delight for me. I'm from Pocahontas, Iowa, a town of about 1,700 people in the northwest part of the state. ...

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Iowa, I can't thank you enough. But this is where I leave you. ...

Wednesday, July 29, 2020
By Ashley Duong, The Union  

Is it too early to start listening to Christmas music? I hope not, because I'm already bumping it in my car. I'm not sure I ever stopped listening to my holiday playlist when it ...

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

There are a lot of things about pre-quarantine life that I miss. But there are a few things about actual quarantine life that I miss, too. ...

Wednesday, July 08, 2020

I read a newspaper article this week that simultaneously filled me with hope and despair. ...

Wednesday, June 10, 2020

The death of a black man named George Floyd at the hands of a Minneapolis police officer has prompted protests across the country and even in our little corner of the world here ...

Tuesday, June 09, 2020

Guys, it's almost over. The horrible sportsless time of spring 2020 has taken its toll on America, and especially me, but next week it's almost back to normal as Iowa High School ...

Tuesday, June 02, 2020

Our former editor Karyn Spory and I were discussing all the bad things we've done in the past, through our schooling and our young lives. We realized that both of us had small ...

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

After a nice family trip out to Old Threshers grounds on Sunday to run and play in the open field, my two-year old and I snuggled up on the couch to find something to watch on TV ...

Got a story idea or news tip?

We want to hear from you!

Submit your story idea or news tip by clicking the button below.