May is School Board Recognition Month

Laurie Noll
Laurie Noll

May is School Board Recognition Month in Iowa, and Fairfield Community School District joins public education communities throughout the state to thank and celebrate our Board of Directors volunteering for Public Education. These members are responsible for providing high-quality public education to our students.

FCSD Board members are elected by their communities to manage local schools. They oversee an annual budget of $30 million, 1654 students, 313 employees, and 4 attendance centers along with Auxiliary Services and Central Office.

These elected volunteers create school policy, approve curricula, develop innovative opportunities, and maintain school facilities. Board members must enhance their understanding of state and federal education law; the complexities of school finance, including budgets and taxes; and the importance of maintaining a positive district culture. They spend many hours in board training programs and personal study, while also advocating for public schools with their local legislators.

We don’t always recognize the dedication and hard work of these public servants elected to represent us and the interests of our children. Please join us by saying “thanks” to these volunteers of public education during School Board Member Recognition Month in May.

The members serving on your FCSD board are Debi Plum, President; Frank Broz, Vice President, Board Members: Tim Bower, John McKerley, Kelly Scott, Margo Von Strohuber, and Christi Welsh.

- Laurie Noll is the superintendent of the Fairfield Community School District