Stewart, Dickey picked to face off in Senate District 41

The political parties have selected their candidates for the special election in Iowa’s Senate District 41.

During party conventions held Thursday night, the Democratic Party selected Mary Stewart of Ottumwa as its nominee, and the Republican Party selected Adrian Dickey of rural Packwood.

Republican Mariannette Miller-Meeks vacated the seat after she was elected to Congress. Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds announced a special election for Jan. 26 to fill the seat.

District 41 includes all of Van Buren and Davis counties, plus most of Wapello and Jefferson counties, including the cities of Ottumwa and Fairfield.

The Republicans held their convention in Ottumwa, while the Democrats held theirs virtually. Those who were allowed to vote on the nomination were the members of each party’s central committee chosen during the 2020 caucuses.

Dickey, president of Dickey Transport in Packwood, said the Republican Party reached out to him after Miller-Meeks’s victory to see if he would be interested in filling her seat. Dickey said he was honored to be asked, and felt he could contribute something in the Iowa Senate.

“Our party has done so much to conserve the values and principles we stand for the last couple of years,” he said. “I’m looking forward to getting out, learning the district and learning everyone’s thoughts and desires on how I can help in the next 18 days.”

Stewart worked at Indian Hills Community College for 33 years in the college’s employment and training sectors and as the dean of academic services. After learning of her nomination Thursday night, Stewart said she is grateful for the support she received.

“I plan to work hard to bring positive leadership to this district and this state,” she said. “And I will work every day to create opportunities for rural Iowa to thrive.”